Who are we?

The South End Neighborhood Council (SENCo) is one of eight Neighborhood Councils formed by the City of Tacoma in 1992. We are an independent non-profit (501c3) corporation that addresses issues and concerns at the neighborhood level and works cooperatively with neighborhood groups for the attainment of neighborhood goals. SENCo seeks to encourage the participation of all citizens in the governmental process and maximize the use of resources through the concepts of community and group organization through utilization of available services and funding sources. SENCo believes that the quality of life within our neighborhoods is a common interest, as well as our goals for social and economic justice by building and maintaining relationships within our communities. SENCo aims to foster a partnership of open communications between all groups, the City of Tacoma, and its neighborhoods.

We are Working Together to Make the South End Better …for everyone in the South End!

Current Board Members

Copy of Untitled

Seat 1  Cary Nilson

Seat 2  Melissa Knott – Vice Chair

Seat 3  David Thompson

Seat 4  Tony Caldwell

Seat 5  Cheryl Kopec

Seat 6  Eric Paulsen

Seat 7  OPEN

Seat 8  Treyvon Dunbar

Seat 9  Athena Brewer – Chair

Seat 10  Andrea Haug – Corresponding Secretary

Seat 11  Penny Grellier – Recording Secretary

Odd numbered seats elected in November of odd numbered years.

Even numbered seats elected in November of even numbered years.

What does a neighborhood council do?

  • Maintain independent nonprofit organization status
  • Recruit a diverse membership
  • Meet at least 4 times per year
  • Undertake improvement projects
  • Identify and develop solutions to mutual problems
  • Mobilize existing resources to respond to neighborhoods needs
  • Review neighborhood issues and make recommendations to the City
  • Develop an annual plan and supporting budget provided to the City Council
  • Provide annual report to City Council
  • Adopt and follow by-laws, rules, and procedures

When/where do we meet?

Our monthly General Meeting is held at 7pm on the first Monday of every month except for December when we recess for the holidays. 

Currently we are grateful to be hosting all of our meetings over Zoom    (Meeting ID: 783 240 9538).                                                                                            Typically we get together at Fire Station #8 on South Alaska Avenue               (4911 S Alaska Ave, 98408), and we look forward to resuming in-person meetings in accordance with CoT guidance. We will continue to share meetings live online even when we return to the in-person format.

Where are we on a map?


The South End Neighborhood Council area is about seven square miles with a population of nearly 40,000 people.

The boundaries are as follows: North: I-5 East: Pacific Avenue until East 72nd Street where McKinley becomes the eastern boundary South: South 96th Street West: I-5

Click here for a boundary map.

Why are we a neighborhood council?

In September 1992, the City Council passed legislation designating eight Neighborhood Councils whose boundaries correspond to the City’s traditional planning areas. Each Neighborhood Council serves as an independent, non-profit citizen-based efforts for neighborhood improvement.

Why get involved in a neighborhood council? Working towards a more livable, safe, and equitable city, we benefit from a broad and diverse community to help develop projects and implement positive changes in the South End neighborhood as a whole.


Updated June 1, 2021

%d bloggers like this: